NDSA is happy to announce the 2022 slate of Coordinating Committee (CC) candidates. Elections will soon be held for three (3) CC members. The CC is dedicated to ensuring a strategic direction for NDSA, to the advancement of NDSA activities to achieve community goals, and to further communication among digital preservation professionals and NDSA member organizations. The CC is responsible for reviewing and approving NDSA membership applications and publications; updating eligibility standards for membership in the alliance, and other strategic documents; engaging with stakeholders in the community; and working to enroll new members committed to our core mission. The successful candidates will each serve a three year term. Ballots will be sent to membership organization contacts in the coming weeks.

Terrance D’Ambrosio

Terrance D’Ambrosio has worked in the field of digital imaging and visual resources since 2007. Terrance confers with NEDCC’s clients to evaluate their collections and develop digital imaging proposals and specifications, and works closely with the Center’s paper and book conservation laboratories on projects that require both conservation treatment and digital imaging. He sets standards for quality control and workflow in NEDCC’s Digital Imaging department, and maintains best practices for digital capture and preservation. He is a graduate of Vassar College with a degree in Art History and previously managed the Digital Imaging Unit of the New York Public Library.

Shira Peltzman

Shira is the Digital Archivist for UCLA Library Special Collections where she works with stakeholders on an enterprise-wide basis to preserve and make LSC’s born-digital material accessible to the widest possible audience. As a current member of the NDSA Staffing Survey Working Group, she has seen firsthand the importance of undertaking this work collectively and the impact that it has on the field. Shira is interested in serving as a member of the NDSA Coordinating Committee because she would like to help guide and coordinate this work to maximize the quality, relevance, consistency, and overall effectiveness of the publications that come out of all Interest and Working Groups.

Deon Schutte

Deon Schutte (Content Interest Group Co-Chair; 1st term, 2022-2024) worked as a freelance typesetter in the educational publishing industry in South Africa for many years. In 2018 he completed his B.INF (Bachelor of Information Science) through the University of South Africa and his B.INF Honours in 2019. Deon is a MPhil (Master of Philosophy, specialising in Digital Curation) candidate at the University of Cape Town (the first African member of the NDSA). He serves as the Chair of the Association of Southern African Indexers and Bibliographers (ASAIB) and is a Fellow of the South African Chefs Association. He works at Africa Media Online as digital curator and project manager of the production team that is busy arranging and digitising the extensive archive of one of the prominent politicians of the anti-Apartheid struggle. He resides in Pietermaritzburg (Msunduzi), South Africa.

Bethany Scott

Bethany is the Head of Preservation & Reformatting at the University of Houston Libraries. In this role she provides strategic leadership for the Libraries’ physical and digital preservation programs, and digitization and reformatting services for the Libraries and its patrons. Bethany also serves as Product Owner of the Libraries’ open-source digital access and preservation ecosystem, which incorporates Avalon, Hyrax, Archivematica, and ArchivesSpace. Her areas of expertise include digital preservation, born-digital archives, scanning and imaging, and reuse of archival metadata.

Bethany is currently researching how to assess and improve the Libraries’ carbon footprint, particularly for its digital and computing infrastructure; as part of this research, she has presented at the IS&T Archiving and the NDSA Digital Preservation conferences, and anticipates co-facilitating a workshop on “Enacting Environmentally Sustainable Digital Preservation” for the Southeast Asia Regional Branch of the ICA later this year.

Bethany is also a founding member and steering committee chair for the Texas Archivematica Users Group, which has facilitated information sharing and collaboration among Archivematica practitioners in Texas and beyond. She is a dedicated advocate for fostering community engagement and building shared infrastructure for the digital preservation field, and looks forward to bringing this passion to the NDSA Coordinating Committee.

The post NDSA Announces 2022 Slate of Candidates for Coordinating Committee appeared first on DLF.